Everything about it is wonderful!!
TripAdvsior Review

Dude Ranch Vacations Testimonials

Dude Ranch Vacations Testimonials

circleRating.gif circleRating.gif circleRating.gif circleRating.gif circleRating.gif

World's Best Dude Ranch Vacation

June 20th, 2010 — Family Vacation Critic

Sylvan Dale Ranch was the most welcoming place I have ever visited. … The food is fabulous. Three amazing meals each day and healthy so that I was able to eat and not come back with extra pounds. The chef and his staff are real professionals. … We came back a stronger and happier family with memories and pictures to last a lifetime. …

read more

Thank you so much! We absolutely loved our time here at the ranch. The cabin was amazing, the scenery was amazing and the food…fantastic!

Travis & Whitney Swartz

Testimonials Straight from the "Horse's Mouth!"

I've been meaning to say this for over a week. I wish I could post it to your wall or run it in the paper so everyone would see it. But we had the most amazing ride on the 7th.

Lonnie was our guide, and could not have done a better job. There were five of us, three of which were children (ages 10, 9 and 7). Only the ten-year-old had ever ridden before, and the 9-yr-old is a 24/7 drama queen. He handled our crazy group so well.

He had just the right amount of sternness for our drama queen (helping the rest of us keep our sanity). It poured, then hailed then started to lightning during our ride. Evan and Sean rescued us in their truck. They were so sweet, especially to the kids.

Most places would force us to reschedule, but we resumed our ride as soon as the weather cleared. Which saved the kids a lot of heartache since they were visiting from Maryland and could not reschedule.

The ride was beautiful. And you guys were above and beyond amazing. Thank you!!!

Genevieve Mailhot Schumacher

As people have been calling all of us today to ask about our vacation we have each tried our best to describe to our friends and family what a great time we had and to share with them the unique and special experience of a Sylvan Dale vacation. What strikes me as I listen to the kids talk about it, and as I try to describe it myself is that it is easy to describe the week of activities, but really difficult to describe the quality of the activities, the quality of the interaction with the people who provide the activities, and the sheer beauty of the country the activities take place in. I mean really how can one truly describe the sound of the Thompson River running outside your window in the morning or the sun hitting the red rocks as it sets at night?

While Sylvan Dale is located in a really beautiful spot and the surrounding mountains and country are also spectacular, it seems to be the quality of the Sylvan Dale people that really make the difference. Everyone who works at Sylvan Dale seems to really enjoy what they do. They seem to have a fondness for the place and for the land and they seem to go out of their way to make sure that guests have a wonderful experience at Sylvan Dale.

Lori Latka

Mary and I wish to sincerely express our joy for the week we had at Sylvan Dale. This was our first experience at a guest ranch and my first experience on a horse. We did not know what to expect. But this I do know, we were not disappointed and we now have many positive memories. I am very impressed with everyone at the ranch. From the top on down, everybody works long hours to make our stay enjoyable. This was an absolute pleasure.

Robert L. Baird

You managed to engage three teenage girls to the point they didn't even carry their cell phones. They are STILL talking about their adventures at the ranch and plan on being back next year. …

Laura Littlebear

Thank you for the most wonderful and memorable time I spent at your ranch. I have many delightful and fun pictures. Everyone has a smile on their face. That shows you we were all enjoying everything. I have never been on a vacation like this. Your staff and wranglers made me feel so comfortable, even for us novices. I can't say enough about the meals we had…delicious. I also want to say what a great program you have for the children. I think my best time was when a group of us got to herd the cattle from pen to pen and couldn't let them get to the mountain of muck.

Susan Andersen

It is quite difficult to know where to begin as there are so many adjectives, emotions and accolades running around in my head. In my opinion, the conclusion is that Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch in its entirety, is a beautiful ranch and is rated a "10" in all aspects. Each department does a great job of managing their specific area, and accomplishing their goals and objectives in a most professional, efficient yet cordial manner. The facility, the activities, and the food were all excellent and especially the people, the Jessup's, their staff and guest. Everyone provided such a warm, friendly atmosphere making me feel welcomed like a big family gathering — it definitely enhanced my visit! Linda and David were great hosts as were Susan and David A. even though I didn't have as much of an opportunity to spend time with them.

Thank you for the great opportunity to get to know some very accomplished, special individuals. The conversations, experiences, and good times will always be remembered. 'Til we meet again!

Carole Betz

“The best staff of any organization I have ever seen!”

“Good balance of constant activities, but not rushed.”

“As an experienced rider & horse owner, I highly recommend the riding horses and wranglers at SDR. It's a great way to challenge your skills without the hassle of trailering. The horses are well-trained, fit & suitable for all levels of riding. Enjoy the ride of a lifetime at SDR.”
fancy-border-top.png “I would like to compliment the wranglers for their outstanding job of instructing the students.”

“As an experienced rider, I appreciated the flexibility of the horse program to provide riding experiences to my level, and those that challenged me. The barn staff went out of their way to match me with a suitable horse so I could truly experience the authentic Sylvan Dale Ranch.”
 


Leaving Sylvan Dale

(Poem composed for the Friday night Ranch Party)

We'll be missing Sylvan Dale when we leave (boo hoo)
We'll miss Krista calling cows in the field (come on!)
We'll miss best desserts in town when we leave (yum yum)
We'll miss riding with the wranglers on the trail (yee haw!)

Wedding Testimonials Wedding Testimonials

Top of page

Amazing, beautiful venue with an incredible staff that is so professional and kind! They really make you feel special and thanks to everyone involved, our wedding was PERFECT! Can't wait to go back and enjoy even more of the wonderful things Sylvan Dale has to offer!

— Samantha
September, 2012

Great venue... Excellent food...& Excellent service from everyone!

— Tom
August, 2012

Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch went above and beyond in every aspect. Outstanding food that our guests raved over. A wedding planner who is calm, sweet, helpful, thoughtful, caring, insightful, friendly and, apparently, experienced enough to foresee and prevent any glitches. And when the cake was delivered unfinished (embellishments) by a Loveland company, the Sylvan Dale staff went out of their way to see to it that the mistake was corrected. Outstanding, every one of them.

— Dawn
July, 2012

Sylvan Dale is simply a beautiful place to get married. The weather was marvelous and The Heritage was the site of my ceremony in front of a fireplace with a western and Native American atmosphere. Complimentary honeymoon cabin provided the night of the honeymoon and was a very cosy fun time. Opened the window to hear the river splashing on the banks. Loved it and a beautiful day in Colorado!

— Lauri
April, 2012

John and I had the most amazing weekend staying at the Bed and Breakfast up at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch … we were warmly welcomed by everyone we came into contact with, and I mean everyone! If you are by chance considering getting married up here, contact Sue Bennett, she is the wedding coordinator and she is the sweetest wedding coordinator for a venue that I have ever met. I promise, she will take care of you! If you haven’t been here, I highly recommend it! Thank you Sylvan Dale Ranch for making our (late) Valentines Weekend Get-a-way the best it could have been! read more

Dalen Nicole

We want to say thank you to the entire staff at the ranch for making our wedding weekend better than we ever could have imagined.

Cheryl L.

…All of our guests were charmed by the Sylvan Dale - the beauty of the surroundings and all the comfortable amenities… What happy memories you helped to make!

Donna Sharp
Mother of the Groom

I was more than pleased with everything. The service was more than I could have asked for. You and all your staff were so helpful to me. All I had to do was to turn and there was someone there to assist me with what ever I needed. I for one, felt very well taken care of. Thank you so much.

Susan Egan
Mother of the Bride

I couldn't have been happier with how our wedding went here. The place is absolutely beautiful and the wedding coordinator was great, she also responded to my messages within 1 day and we answered questions through telephone and emails with no issues. The site was set-up upon arrival (white chairs and wooden arch), and I was able to get dressed in one of their rooms in the Jessup Lodge (for no charge), and it was plenty big for me and 4 other girls. Everything went as planned, we never felt rushed, we were able to take pictures of the wedding party pretty much where ever we wanted as long as we didn't disturb others (there were people that were BBQing by one of the ponds). I would highly recommend this place to get married, we had no issues and they were wonderful to work with!

— Sally
August, 2010

Thank you so much for everything! Our wedding was amazing and everything we hoped for. The Ranch is beautiful and our guest really enjoyed it!

— Stephanie & S. Lebsock
July, 2010

Thanks so much for the wonderful food at our wedding event last Saturday… Many commented to me how very nice the food was. My brother was in from DC and attends many gala events due to his position (he also cooks gourmet stuff himself and has even done cooking schools in Italy for fun) and he made a point to tell me the food was just excellent.

We had such a wonderful wedding due in large part to all of the great service, attention to detail, and wonderful atmosphere that is Sylvan Dale.

Christina and Eric Morway
Bride and Groom

The food was amazing and your eye for detail was perfect. I felt very spoiled the whole time.

Emily and Juan Acosta
Bride and Groom

First, I wanted to thank you and the rest of the staff at Sylvan Dale for an excellent weekend!! All of the guests at our events were so pleased with your facilities and many commented on how friendly all of the staff were to them. You all made our wedding weekend a very special and memorable occasion. We really could not have asked for more!!

Erin and Chris Mencini
Bride and Groom

We registered for beef on our wedding registry. Heart-J Beef made the whole process so easy. Our friends and family were able to call in and donate any amount towards our order. The grass fed beef from Heart-J Beef is amazing and we've been coming back ever since. We would recommend Heart-J Beef to anyone.

Colin and Erin Quinn, Bride and Groom

We had a blast!

Amanda
August, 2008

If you're looking for a beautiful venue to hold an outdoor wedding in Colorado, I highly recommend Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch and Sue Bennett. They were such a pleasure to work with and made sure our weekend went off without a hitch (well, except for us getting married!). We rented out the whole ranch for 3 days and our guests had a ball. They all said it was the best wedding they ever went to.

B. Lucas
September, 2007

Retreats Testimonials Retreats Testimonials

Top of page

Have I told you lately that I love Sylvan Dale? Another FANTASTIC job! Everything went flawlessly, you and your staff are superb. I highly recommend the ranch for the beautiful grounds, fun and unique activities, delicious food and treats, and especially the staff who went above and beyond to make sure each guest had an unforgettable time. Our Otters and their families had nothing but positive things to say!

OtterBox

Hands down the best facility we have ever had for a team meeting. We have stayed in hotels across North America, and all of them are a distant 2nd in service to your staff. I would love to duplicate your culture for all of our 3,000 hotels. Truly an amazing place!!

Mike Swanigan, Regional Director, Western US & Local Market sales, Hotel Performance Support,
InterContinental Hotels Group, The Americas

Sylvan Dale is a glowing example of quality customer service! The icing on the cake is the warmth and authenticity you extend. Thank you!

Sheri Martin
Business Retreat guest

…Our deepest gratitude for the outstanding job that all the staff did on our behalf when we held our Diocesan Board of Directors retreat …Every ranch staff member we encountered was uniformly friendly and helpful, and we were made to feel most welcome and at home…Everyone enjoyed the hospitality and the excellent meals…

Lelanda Lee
Board Member, Denver, CO

Thanks again for the royal reception and the first class treatment. Our group thoroughly enjoyed our visit.


David J. Joseph Company
Cincinnati, Ohio

I would not hesitate to recommend Sylvan Dale’s facility for any corporate group that wants to combine business and team building. Sylvan Dale’s facility offered everything we needed for a productive meeting. The location is conveniently close to Loveland / Fort Collins, yet the setting is quiet and felt far away. This enabled us all to remove ourselves mentally from our daily responsibilities so we could focus our energies on the topics of the meeting.

Our attendees from both domestic and international locations enjoyed the ranching atmosphere, which gave everyone a flavor for the unique beauty of Colorado and the American West.

The highlight of our meeting was the equine-assisted team building activity. For an afternoon, we were all ranch hands, learning riding skills as a group and then putting them immediately to use in activities that tested and further developed our communication and teamwork skills.

Not only was the team-building highly effective for our group, but the experience was so unique that it will be remembered for years to come.

Bob Steiner, Director, R&D, Hewlett-Packard

I wanted to thank you again for hosting the Nestle Healthcare Region meeting last week. My experience and the response from the group was nothing less than outstanding! From the meeting room, dining experience, trail ride and guest quarters; it has all exceeded our expectation! Thank you again for providing such outstanding service. It was definitely "Legendary Hospitality!

Melissa Barcewski
Nestle Healthcare

Thank you for your kind and generous treatment of our church group. The great facilities and wonderful food was only excelled by the hospitality. We hope to do it again.

J. Emmett Roberts, Minister
Church of Christ

We have just concluded our 2008 season of Retreats, and by all accounts it has been another wonderful success! … The support we have received from you and Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch has been a vital ingredient to our success and we are very grateful for your ongoing generosity.

Stan Golub
Executive Director, Reel Recovery

The location of Sylvan Dale, at the mouth of the Big Thompson Canyon is breathtaking, with pristine wildlife viewing opportunities, amazing geologic formations, and cattle/horse ranch activities which all contribute to creating our amazing retreat experiences. It is an incredible place to learn, listen, observe, and heal our souls. Our clients delight in these retreats, and we enjoy coming to the ranch on a monthly basis (or more often!). I am so appreciative that the Sylvan Dale family opens their hearts and spirit to us; to allow us the pleasure of experiencing this slice of heaven for our specialized retreat events. One needs a chance to get away to nature for renewal, reflection, and rejuvenations. Our wonderful nature walks along the river, self-discovery sessions, accommodations with stone fireplaces, and the opportunity to breathe clean mountain air allows us to leave the Ranch with renewed levels of creativity, inspirations, hope, and vigor!

Dr. Allen D. Brandon, Ph.D.
Director, Rocky Mountain Neuropsychological Sciences, P.C.

Family Reunions Testimonials Family Reunions Testimonials

Top of page

Trip Advisor Review

Christmas 2008 is now memories captured digitally on cameras and forever in our minds. Without a doubt one of the most memorable Christmas' of my life, and I believe my feelings are shared by the other 28 members of the Assmus Family Christmas Reunion.

Charles and Donna Assmus, celebrating their 58th wedding anniversary this year, have five children whose families have grown through the years to the point where no single household can comfortably support a gathering of all family members.

The Sylvan Dale Lodge and specifically the Wagon Wheel Bunkhouse was the perfect setting and accommodations for our family Christmas reunion. The large bunkhouse, with stone fireplace, log furniture, tables, and the adjacent kitchen made for an ideal setting to socialize, play pinochle, board games, and gather for gift exchanges and Christmas carols. The adjoining private bedrooms and baths allowed for a good nights rest, although most didn't maintain their normal sleep schedules as the adrenalin rush from once again being together as a family made sleep difficult to come by - at least the first night.

Outside the bunkhouse, the Sylvan Dale ranch allowed for early morning runs on the gravel roads scattered throughout the ranch. The runners observed coyotes up close and deer on the distant hills. On the second day we held a much hyped outdoor kickball game with the older generation challenging the younger generation to bragging rights! The temperatures were in the low 20's and a few inches of snow covered our scratched out field, but the competition was intense and the action non-stop - keeping most everyone warm 'till the end. However, once back at the bunkhouse, the warm fire and hot cider made for a great place to recant the great plays and view the digital photos.

Thanks again, for providing such a wonderful setting for our Assmus Family Christmas Reunion. The breakfasts were to die for! Please extend our gratitude once again to the cooks and the servers. We're already talking about other gatherings at the Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, and the Lord willing … celebrating Charles and Donna's 60th wedding anniversary at your mountain ranch facility.

Assmus Family Reunion

Thank you, Sylvan Dale! From Kate, Pat Mother, Marilyn, Karen, Cyndi, Jenny, and about forty other happy celebrants. We all appreciated all that you did to make our celebration perfect! Wow! What a Week! With many thanks, best wishes and hoping for an opportunity to return to Sylvan Dale.

Sylvan Dale was such a great setting and a wonderful retreat to enjoy our celebration!

We had a chance to connect in such a beautiful setting with such relaxing and attentive service as well. It just could not have been better.

I’ve loved those brisk, overcast days, the sudden showers, the roaring river, the sounds of the birds, and an occasional whinny!

Sylvan Dale was the perfect setting for our celebration.

What a perfectly lovely location you chose, with weather to match…I can only imagine the magic you all worked to make it all happen. It was a truly feel good experience in every way.

Yes, Yes, Yes! More days at the Ranch! What a beautiful place it is! That was just a stellar event!

Karen Bird and Family

Our Schmidt Family Reunion was a great success, due in a large part to the setting. Everyone loved Sylvan Dale! It's interesting to note that most of the Colorado people were not aware of the amenities that the Ranch offered. Now, I hope, many of them will find it to be a great escape, which is right at their doorsteps. Thank you for your time and patience as we worked through the details. There is a lot of enthusiasm about doing it again in two or three years, so don't toss the file quite yet! Thank you again and best wishes for a successful summer.

Sylvia Garney

This was the most perfect place we have ever been for a family reunion! We had such a good time.

The Hahn Family Reunion

Bed and Breakfast (B&B) Testimonials Bed and Breakfast Testimonials

Top of page

We had a great time here. You guys have a great ranch. We loved it. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The horses were great. The scenery is beautiful. It was just a really lovely experience being here. Thank you so much for having us.

Clyde and Dawn Raines

We were put up in the Molly Brown Cottage last Monday and enjoyed our stay very much. What a lovely setting…beautiful! We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and were impressed with all the staff members we met. We will be happy to recommend your business to all we meet.

Orville Riddle

Spent the Thanksgiving Holiday weekend at the Sylvan Dale Ranch. It was a most memorable experience. The cabins are beautiful, all the staff did a great job, the food was great, the horseback rides into the mountains were breathtaking, it is beautiful country!

But I think the most important aspect of the whole experience was the homey family atmosphere. Guests, staff and the owners of Sylvan Dale just all seemed to come together to make one big happy family…. Everyone makes you feel like family here. I can't thank everyone enough for the chance to be a small part of this wonderful place!!! Hope to get to go back there and visit again. I would highly recommend this as a memorable vacation experience!!! :)

THANKS SYLVAN DALE!!!!!!

Cindy Roberts

Cowgirl Round-Up Testimonials Cowgirl Round-Up Testimonials

Top of page

TripAdvisor Review

Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to be involved in the Cowgirl Round-up! I had fun with the staff, attendees, guests and other queens. Thank you!

Megan Grieve, Miss Rodeo Colorado 2008

It was such fun to see familiar cowgirl faces and meet new cowgirls and what a great evening's entertainment, too. Something different and really enjoyable! It was a real treat for me.

Carol Burgard

Spring Break-Away Testimonials Spring Break-Away Testimonials

We made the long journey back to Wellington after a great stay at Sylvan Dale! We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone was very hospitable. The meals were well prepared and filling. The lodging was very comfortable. The setting was very pleasant.

Phil Schwolert
Owner/Publisher of The Homesteader

Fishing Testimonials Fishing Testimonials

Top of page

Perhaps you should include time travel in your marketing material.

I blinked going into the valley yesterday. Blinking again hours later…It was as if time froze. Even better the day transported me back to a time my father and I played Damsels and Dragons.

Although my father ascended into Heaven in 2002, he was tangibly with me fish after fish. A father's day gift for a 52 year old son…fatherless for 6 years.

I remember a scene from the movie Field of Dreams. John Kinsella asks Is this Heaven? His son Ray says, No, it's Iowa. I could have sworn it was Heaven being in the valley all alone with my father yesterday.

I echo John Kinsella's words. I just wanted to thank you folks for putting up the valley, letting us play here.

P.S. The Dragons Won!

Steve Musick
Annual Fishing Member

Heart-J Grass-finished Beef Testimonials Heart-J Grass-finished Beef Testimonials

Top of page

I had been a vegetarian who ate organically for nearly forty years. However, head injury from a car accident so increased my need for protein that I knew I needed to eat some red meat - a huge transition for me.

Luckily, I already knew the owners and staff of Sylvan Dale Ranch and their excellent reputation for grass fed and carefully handled cattle, right through to the processing of the meat.

I began with small amounts of their hamburger and not only felt an immediate difference health wise, but I easily enjoyed the flavor, which surprised me.

After a few weeks eating Heart-J beef, my schedule didn't permit me to visit Sylvan Dale Ranch when I needed beef. Consequently, I bought top-of-the-line hamburger of a well known brand at the health food store. I threw half of it away because I just couldn't "stomach it". There was an enormous difference in taste and leanness between the two products.

I was very grateful that I had known about Heart-J been initially, and I was very glad to return to using it. In addition, Heart-J went out of it's way to make sure it was easy for me to have access to this healthful meat. So, customer service, too. It's a winner all the way around!

Nancy Waldrum

We care greatly about three things: well managed grasslands, the humane treatment of animals, and tasty, well aged, well cut beef. Sylvan Dale beef excels at all three. Thank you.

Carl && Jane Bock

My friend cooked a Heart J Beef roast for 1 hour and it was delicious; very juicy and tender! Everyone raved! I now know how to cook an oven roast and also know how good your meat is. The other thing we noticed after the meal was that we didn't feel like we had a heavy meal. The meat seems to digest easier then grain fed beef.

Deanna Pearson

I am honestly loving our beef that we got last month. It is the best! From the Rib-eye to the ground beef, it doesn't get any better. It is the best tasting beef we have ever had! The ribeyes we fixed the other night, simply made you close your eyes and say mmmmmmm. I would recommend SDR beef to anyone.

Ted Meredith
Loveland

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 Winner

Testimonials From Our Trip Advisor Friends! Testimonials From Our Trip Advisor Friends!

Write a Review

Top of page

 

 

“Fantastic family vacation at Sylvan Dale”

August 30, 2013

My wife and I live in Monterey, CA, and our five kids and eight grandkids live on the East Coast. To get together my wife organizes off-sites in Europe or Mexico. The trip to Sylvan Dale this Summer was our first ever family get-together in the U.S. It was fantastic in all regards, even for me as I am not a horse person.

There was plenty for all seventeen of us, spanning three generations to do at all times, and we only wish the days were longer. The youth program was particularly excellent, and the impact on the four youngest Bruneaus was dramatic and super-positive.

The quality of the staff, their capabilities and interest, was phenomenal, and we deeply appreciate their commitment to the guests. Obviously, none of this is by chance, and the overall administration of Sylvan Dale is double appreciated. We intend to return, if not next year then the year after.

» more guests' reviews

“Best vacation ever!”

August 19, 2013

What can I say? Everything we experienced exceeded what we learned from the website and from talking with others in advance who had been at Sylvan Dale.

This is truly a place to go back in time and experience the west as it was meant to be. The staff, food, location all fabulous! There is so much to do we were never bored.

Sylvan Dale should be added to the USA historical sites list as a national treasure. We have already recommended 3 other families to go to the ranch. Forget the beach. Go to Sylvan Dale! Bring the kids and grand-kids.

» more guests' reviews

“Another great year at Sylvan Dale”

August 17, 2013

Completed our 4th year at SD in June. Every summer is a delight, no slips here … the service, ranch, people & cabins are first class all the way, Rustic chic I think is catch phrase.

My daughter went on the over night with her counselor this year & had a great time. I was put in charge of making the home made ice cream during soft ball night. Vanilla again, next year we are bringing fresh strawberries to liven it up .

My only issue with Sylvan Dale is the week goes by to fast. G

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Fantastic”

August 16, 2013

This BEAUTIFUL ranch has it all. The cabins are nestled amongst the trees by by the Big Thompson River and the sound of the water will lull you to sleep.

Great fishing, for beginners, right thru experienced anglers. Stocked ponds and river angling right out your door. The kids activities are unbelievable … helping the wranglers, rock climbing, tubing on the Big Thompson.

The evening activities were a blast … I never thought softball could be so much fun, but the staff made it great for tots to old folks.

I highly recommend this for a family vacation, from kids to grandparents, from nature observers to outdoor activists. Too many activities to name here. And the horses are excellent. VERY well cared for and all with a calm disposition. You won't find a better place or a better staff

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“100% Fabulous”

August 11, 2013

I have discovered my ‘inner cowgirl’ at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch and it has changed my life.

My 15 year-old granddaughter and I spent 6 days at this extraordinary Ranch, riding, shooting, singing and dancing, white-water rafting, cow-herding and just hanging out. Sylvan Dale Ranch maintains its family tradition of hospitality and friendliness through the personal dedication and competence of the original founders’ children, Susan and husband David, and David and wife Linda. The family members’ presence throughout the day and evening make a Dude guest feel as if he/she has been personally invited to share their home.

And what a home! The week was scheduled to build up to the fantastic conclusion of an overnight 2500 feet up the mountain to Cow Camp. But even if you don’t want to spend lots of time in the saddle, you can still participate in a less-strenuous riding program or take part in other activities. There was one pregnant woman in our group who had a great time doing the easier rides.

If you are even remotely thinking of a vacation with horses in an incredibly beautiful location, Sylvan Dale is for you. It was certainly for me and I can’t wait to return. Thank you Susan, wranglers, and all the staff.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Heaven on Earth”

August 4, 2013

The stay was a huge success from the moment we were shown round the ranch to the moment we left.

Accommodation superb; we stayed in a cabin close to the River Thompson. Horse-riding experience excellent - horses well cared for.

It was a pleasure to meet Susan Jessup who made us feel totally at home, and delighted in sharing the 'history' of the ranch with us (also gave us a Ranch souvenir to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary!). All the staff are friendly and helpful and obviously love their jobs.

Whilst we were there we joined in with activities that a group of youngsters who on 'retreat' were enjoying - and learned a new game - throwing horse shoes! My husband and I are planning to go back there ( and my husband doesn't really like horses!).

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Excellent Ranch Experience”

July 23, 2013

Sylvan Dale has the rare distinction of making you feel like family visiting a ranch. The trail hands and Jessup family are friendly competent people.

Their is a wealth of activities to choose from and no pushiness. They taught me and my two boys how to ride. Also, good family meals and activities.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Dude ranch experience extraordinaire!”

July 20, 2013

Our entire family of 19 spent the week at the ranch. The youngest was 3 years old and the oldest is 73. Everyone had an incredible time. There was so much to do that we really couldn't fit it all in.

The cattle drive was an experience that I will never forget! The staff was genuine, warm, and helpful. No one noticed that there were no televisions!

The best family vacation ever and it truly captured the traditional dude ranch experience. Hats off to the Jessup family.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Great trail ride..more than we expected”

July 17, 2013

Our family of 4, including our two 8 y.o. girls, took a 1.5 hr trail ride, which we luckily had to ourselves, led by a wonderful guide named Maddie.

We were not staying at the ranch, though it looked very nice, but chose this stable based on a personal recommendation and, as another reviewer commented, because I read that many of the horses were bred there. You can tell the horses are well-cared for, which I also feel is important to support.

We were led around the ranch and saw mischievous steer, Mikey, the bull, prairie dogs, and beautiful scenery.

Afterwards, Maddie took the time to share with our girls watering the horses and replacing shoes. She even gave us some tips for a great follow-up afternoon in Old Town Ft. Collins. This was a highlight day of our CO vacation. We will definitely return for another ride when in the area.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Beautiful spot near the Rockies”

July 9, 2013

Stayed here for just an overnight off season, when they function as a bed and breakfast. The property is just gorgeous and all the facilities seem very nice.

In season there is a lot to do. We stayed in the Big Thompson Suite, which is kind of like Grandma's apartment in its decor, but quite large. Would've liked to have seen one of the cabins as they look darling.

Breakfast was very nice. A big platter of fresh fruit, eggs, ham, toast, potatoes.

Went on a horse ride the following day and were very impressed. We thought it was going to be a boring old trail ride, but we went on a wonderful ride over hills, through a stream, etc. definitely not boring!

Would love to go back during the summer to experience all they have to offer. Rocky Mtn National Park right in their back yard is a huge plus for exploring outside the ranch.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“First real horse ride of my life and it was fabulous!”

May 6, 2013

I will remember this trip for years to come! I couldn't have been more pleased with the Cowgirl Weekend. Many fabulous women attending and the staff was outstanding!

The owner saved my trip by running to the store for me so I wouldn't miss anything during my stay. The chef and kitchen staff went out of their way to accommodate my special diet requests.

I attended with some friends and would not be afraid to attend this event by myself in the future as several others did. A great getaway to be on your own and not alone.

I had never really been on a horse and they made it so comfortable I was able to enjoy 3 full days of riding! Never in a million years would I have imagined I would have so much fun!

Thank you Susan, Dave, Karen, Laurie, Lonnie, Art, Kitchen crew, and Trail Barron, my cowie horse! I hope to bring my family someday however, I will return for Cowgirl weekend!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Best getaway so far!”

April 30, 2013

Sylvan Dale exceeded my expectations. The staff was beyond accommodating and the horse was a perfect fit. It was a post card perfect stay and can't wait for the next visit, hopefully sooner rather than later!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Fly Fishing”

April 12, 2013

My sister and I chose Sylvan Dale for our first attempt at fly-fishing. What a great experience!

Our guide, Ted, was very professional, patient, humorous and after four hours of learning & doing we actually felt accomplished. While we did not actually land any trout, we both had good strikes which was very exciting.

All the gear was provided, as well as spectacular scenery and perfect weather. The staff at the ranch were all helpful & friendly. Cannot wait to go back — it was an amazing day!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Absolutely Delightful Wedding Venue”

April 8, 2013

My daughter was recently married at Sylvan Dale and we couldn't have been more delighted with the staff and facilities. Our sincere thanks to the wonderful staff, especially Alaina the Wedding Coordinator, and Sue and Hannah at the front desk!

When selecting the venue one of the most important considerations for my daughter and her fiance was excellent food and plenty of room for activities. Sylvan Dale did not disappoint—the perfectly prepared salmon and smoked brisket were world-class delicious. The guests swooned over the food!

The Heritage Room is a lovely reception venue, and the adjoining game room had plenty of space for a photo booth, ping pong, pool, and video games. It kept the younger guests very happy and entertained.

Outside was also lovely and people flowed in and out to the bar on the deck, enjoying the green, peaceful views.

The location is stunning with the river flowing through it. We can't wait to see the wedding pictures because we know they will be gorgeous.

Since so many of the guests were from out of town, it was important for my daughter and her fiance to provide great accommodations, and again Sylvan Dale offered this to us. The cabins are wonderfully clean and comfy, and everyone so enjoyed spending the morning after the wedding together, eating breakfast and strolling on the grass along the riverbanks with the morning sunshine warming our faces.

It was so fun we all stayed as long as we could!

I highly recommend Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Great Place to Ride”

April 4, 2013

I went horseback riding here with friends and we had a great experience. The horses were well cared for and the ranch trails had great views.

We were the only people on our ride because it snowed a foot the day before. This felt like a true ride compared to other places I've been where the horses go on the same trail so much that they do all the work.

I highly recommend this place for horseback riding as we had a good time and the ranch cares for their horses a lot better than other places in the area.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Best of the Best”

March 14, 2013

As repeat guests to Sylvan Dale Ranch this review is to inform families or anyone thinking of going that there is no place like SDR. The valley is beautiful & the ranch is first class in every way.

The food is excellent & there is a great variety freshly prepared meals. The other very key characteristic @ SDR is the quality of the horses. They breed & train on site. The horses are very carefully trained & selected & matched to each guest skills & size. The horses are never over worked. Actually the staff is almost obsessive about keeping the horses fresh & happy.

What makes a ranch vacation is the staff & Susan the owner is extremely focused on quality of guest experience & comfort of each guest.

This is a wonderful place for children & they are welcomed with open arms & many activities throughout the day. I am not a rider except for the breakfast ride 1 time per week. Up in the hills for a fresh cooked cowboy breakfast with all the guests who want to come.

In conclusion, not cheap but worth every penny, this will be our 4th summer & we are going on ranch week where the kids get to interact with the livestock & do chores. My daughter talks all year about the home made ice cream we hand crank at the soft ball game.

I am a veteran traveler with 4 million + actual FF miles in 30 + years of business travel & this week at SDR is always the best experience of the year for us.

Gerry

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Riverside retreat”

December 1, 2012

My best friend and I shared a one bedroom cabin, "Baby Doe" for 5 nights in mid October to enjoy a girls riding and chilling trip. It had been recommended to us by my friend's work colleague and we were not disappointed.

The stables at the ranch provided us with perfect horses which we were able to ride for all 3 half day rides. The 2 wranglers who looked after us Jodie and Melissa were friendly fun and knowledgeable. The rides were spectacular and they accommodated our request to "lope."

The staff at sylvandale are amazing, from the wranglers to the breakfast waitresses, nothing was too much trouble. When we mentioned to Melissa that we had no sticks to toast our s'mores, we were later greeted by staff bearing extra firewood and sticks! The owner Susan even came out in her PJs the night we arrived, late, to show us to our cabin.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, my friend told me even the bed settee in the lounge area was comfy. There was a microwave, fridge and a sink in a small kitchenette area, which could have more crockery and cutlery but a minor issue.

Breakfast was a combination of buffet and cooked to order hot dish which changed each day. I was disappointed pancakes weren't on the menu every day but that's me!

We were there end of season and were so lucky with the weather, it could have been snowing, but we were able to chill in the hammocks by the roaring river and stroll along the banks in the sun.

There are loads of "team building" corporate type facilities available, and high season when the pool, tennis courts and hot tub are in full use might be quite hectic, but we loved the peace and tranquility. The style of the place is designed to be authentic ranch style which to modern English tastes might seem a bit twee or kitsch but that's not a criticism.

It's not too far from Denver airport, we hired a car and got there in about an hour and had no trouble finding it although in the dark we just couldn't find our cabin!

Definitely recommend this place, great for reunions, family get-togethers and corporate events.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Blew me away!!!”

October 20, 2012

My very dear friend & I have been pen pals for 17 yrs. Had always talked about meeting. We started researching girlfriend getaways and after months of narrowing down places to go, we kept coming back to this wonderful ranch. We decided THIS is it… THIS is the place!

We went for their Cowgirl Roundup which is held twice a year; Spring and Fall. A group of women only (about 18-20) Mothers, daughters, sisters, friends, co-workers… I can't even begin to put into words how incredibly AWESOME this ranch is!!!

Everything about it is wonderful!! The ranch, the horses, the food, the sites/settings, cabins&… But it's the staff and owners of Sylvan Dale who blew me away… They truly are the BEST of the BEST… They are all so warm and friendly.

We had the side-by-side cabins, so clean & cozy. The dining room is rustic and the food was divine. The grounds are simply gorgeous.

We had plenty activities to choose from…plenty of riding, breakfast rides, lunch rides…mare & foal care, team penning, poker run ride to name a few. … We had the time of our lives!!! It truly was one of the most rewarding things I've ever experienced. I'd LOVE to go back some day.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Awesome trail ride!”

October 2, 2012

We did not stay at the ranch facilities but just went for a morning for a trail ride. I noticed from their website that they own their own string of horses vs leasing them. This is important to me.

I called the day prior and they were able to accommodate us. It was just my husband and I and our wonderful guide Melissa. Melissa made the ride even better.

The horses were perfect for us and carefully navigated their way up hills and over rocky terrain. The views were awesome. I was a great time and I came away thoroughly happy and content.

We plan to stay at the ranch in the future, it looks to be a great place for family get togethers.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Awesome Vacation!”

September 20, 2012

This summer my 9 yr. old son and I decided to go on an adventure at the Sylvan Dale Ranch. We could not have picked a better spot or ranch to visit. The staff was very friendly as well as the guests that were there during 4th of July week.

My son had limited experience on horseback but was very eager to meet his horse and start learning how to ride better. The horses were very well trained and responsive to all types of riders. The trail rides were awesome. I loved the cattle drive and the team sorting activities.

My son made friends instantly and had fun every day of our stay.

We also loved the food that was served (breakfast, lunch & dinner) He has shown his slide show to all of his friends in OH and wants them to come back next year with him. We are trying to convince mom to come back with us for another visit.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Fun at Sylvan Dale”

September 20, 2012

Every year my friends and I coming from different parts of the country to meet for an adventure. This year after an exhaustive search of the internet we decided to play cowgirls at the Sylvan Dale Ranch. We could not have been happier.

The ranch catered to all levels of riding experience with great horses. An overnight trip into the mountains was made even more exciting by the attempt to find some "lost cattle."

There were plenty of activities to entertain and the staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. It was obvious that the owners loved the ranch and wanted to share that with their guests. It was a great location with a river flowing through the ranch. It was a convenient location, about an hour drive to Denver airport.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Fabulous family reunion”

September 19, 2012

First time we visited Sylvan Dale, my sons were 8 and 10. After 21 years, we returned with their families. It was just as we had remembered it. Lots of family fun with a terrific staff to make your stay everything that you had hoped it would be after all those years.

There were 13 people in our group ranging from 5 to 84 years old. There was something for everyone to enjoy. The food was delicious and very healthy.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Where the West remains.”

September 19, 2012

Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch is a dude ranch where visitors can choose to ride horses, round up cattle, participate in safe conditions with activities that proscribe contemporary cattle ranching. These experiences are accompanied by the best home cooked meals you can find on a dude ranch including homemade breads, ranch produced meats, and accommodate every special diet you can imagine.

For the past three years we have taken our grandson there for a week of wonderful activities. Children's programs are exceptional and include roping, gardening, archery, rock climbing in addition to excellent daily riding lessons. We could easily choose to go to a dude ranch in Wyoming or Montana or Idaho instead of this one just 7 miles from our home, but we feel we have chosen the best and enjoy meeting the folks who show up from the east and west coasts, the mid-west, and Europe. They envy our living 'here'.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Great vacation!!”

September 2, 2012

My wife and I along with our friends just got back from Sylvan Dale Ranch in Colorado. Nothing bad to say about the ranch. Their attention to detail was in part what made the trip. The owners are very personable and interact with the guests quite a bit.

The staff including dining room and wranglers were amazing. The horses were even tempered and a pleasure to ride. … If you like the great outdoors and horses, there is no better place to spend your money then at Sylvan Dale Ranch. 5 Stars!!!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Perfect Wedding”

August 29, 2012

My wife and daughter picked Sylvan Dale Ranch for my daughter's wedding. Their idea was to get two sets of families who had never met into a neutral setting where they could meet and become comfortable with one another. We didn't want a princess—high glamour ceremony but certainly not a redneck one either.

Sylvan Dale was PERFECT. The cabins were spectacular and the grandparents had no problems walking. The grounds—well—couldn't be more beautiful. The food was 5 stars and I travel internationally. The staff went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect.

Many of the guests had never been to the Rockies and to be 20 minutes from Estes Park was a real plus. The Denver Airport Shuttle services Sylvan Dale too. One guest staying at the ranch was from Peru and had spent a week fishing and really didn't want to leave. It really is a magical place.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Bucket list must”

August 14, 2012

I'm a big city guy that has traveled the world. No matter where in the world you have traveled, you still need to find your way to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch.

I took my family of 14 to the ranch for a week and it could not have been better. By the end of the first nights' dinner, you feel at home.

I could go on forever but my family ranges from 4 to 62 and everyone agreed it was the best ever. My 40 year old son-in-law thanked me for the most perfect vacation he ever had that he didn't even want to go on!

It starts and ends with the people and you can't find a better bunch than at Sylvan Dale.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Serene, beautiful, amazing…”

August 6, 2012

We were married at Sylvan Dale last year. Having returned on our "almost one year anniversary" we remembered why we chose Sylvan Dale for one of the most important days of our lives. This ranch is so beautiful, so serene and romantic.

Whether you want to take a leisurely stroll around the beautiful ranch, sit on the Big Thompson River and watch the sunset, lie in a hammock and daydream, take a horseback ride, or any number of relaxing things…Sylvan Dale is there to deliver!

The sweetheart cabins are very warm and inviting. Complete with living room, fireplace that's ready to light, microwave and refrigerator, sink, and comfortable sleeping room. Whatever the season, these cabins would be a quiet, comfortable retreat.

The breakfast in the morning is wonderful! With very accommodating, friendly staff, it's a great way to start your morning whether dining in the spacious dining room or outside overlooking the river.

We had a wonderful stay and plan to make Sylvan Dale our anniversary tradition. Thank you Sylvan Dale for all you do!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Great place for family fun”

July 10, 2012

I just returned from taking my nieces to Sylvan Dale for a week. They were crying when we left.

The staff is excellent, and they have activities for every age and interest. The horses are extremely well trained. They have horses for every level of rider. The ranch is absolutely spotless, well manicured and taken care of. It is a great place to go with your family.....no TV, no distractions, just good fun for all.

The owners were everywhere it seemed. They are extremely hands on. Most of the guests I met when I was there were RETURN GUESTS, many for over 6 years straight. One for 25 years! This place rocks!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“GREAT DAY”

July 9, 2012

My daughter and I visited Sylvan Dale Ranch in June, for an afternoon advanced ride. Every person we met was friendly and helpful. We completed an assessment first to determine if we could do an advanced ride, as my daughter loves adventure and wanted to lope a little!

We had two guides, Slim and another excellent female guide who took us up the mountain, through the meadows and along the mesa. They allowed my daughter time to lope through the meadows, which just made her week!!! They were supportive and encouraging, while ensuring the safety of both of us.

It was a great trip for two hours, and my daughter could have gone on for another two hours. Beautiful views, relaxing time, experienced staff! Would visit again!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Horseriding experience”

May 3, 2012

My daughter and I spent a day here and went out on a wonderful ride with one of the Wranglers. I was a little concerned about the trail being so high up and was reassured by our Wrangler that the horse was very surefooted and would not put either himself or me at risk.

I can honestly say that even though I hadn't ridden for a good few years, it was such a fabulous trek that I forgot my fears and just enjoyed the views and the history lesson that ensued by our very knowledgeable Wrangler.

Definitely very good value for a whole day's trekking and will return next time we are in Colorado

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Great folks at Sylvan Dale Ranch…”

February 23, 2012

This is a great place to ride, the horses are very well trained and actually do what you "ask" them. Which is not that easy to find these days. (Not in my opinion anyway, LOL.)

I know people who have stayed there, and had such a good time, they said they are going back as soon as they could. The people that work at Sylvan Dale will help you with whatever you need. They are truly nice, caring folks who want you to have fun. The views on your rides are outstandingly beautiful.

I have been to a lot of ranches, cause I really love horses and riding. This one is the best. No doubt. If you stay overnight for one of the great vacation packages, the food is also excellent. Have fun! Mary R.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Cowgirl Round up”

October 26, 2011

What a great weekend to spend with your gal pals! Went with 10 other girlfriends! The staff was tremendous in accommodating an 1 1/2 to 3-4 hr. rides on 3200 acres of land.

They taught us how to care for the horses. You can ride as much as you want or relax the afternoon away.

From massages to yoga to line dancing to singing around the campfire, the 4 day weekend was an experience to remember! Will definitely return with my family!

It is family owned and you can tell that the staff is very passionate about what they do. The horses are so well trained. There are a variety of horses for all levels! Love the bell ringing for chow time!!

The Jessep family really has a magical place to experience the great outdoors as a CowGIRL!!!!

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Great Vacation or weekend get away option”

October 1, 2011

I grew up in Loveland and Sylvan Dale has always been regarded as a great place to stay and for weddings etc. It has been there for as long as I can remember. We were back in the area visiting family after a long absence. The cabin was clean and comfortable and we were just fine without TV. Cell phone reception is a bit spotty but wireless is available as is free access to a computer/printer.

Breakfast was hearty and the food was good. My toddler LOVED the old fashioned merry go round, throwing rocks in the river and looking at the horses.

I was horrified by the poorly thought out development around Loveland but the area near Sylvandale is just as lovely as it was when I was a child. We definitely will stay there again. My only complaint was that their walking and hiking trails are not well marked.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Great Guest Ranch”

September 20, 2011

I spent 3 nights with my family on September 16, 2011. The setting and location are outstanding right on the banks of the beautiful Big Thompson River. We stayed in the Wagon Wheel Bunkhouse (the lowest priced accommodation). Clean and comfortable slept well.

They have many cabins that would probably be much nicer. The daily breakfast was great. The staff was Very Friendly. We took a trail ride on horses and that was also alot of fun. The resort is only about 28 miles from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Enroute you travel through the Big Thompson River Canyon...which is breath taking.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Awesome Family Holiday…Didn't Want to Leave”

July 29, 2011

We had never been to a dude ranch and weren't sure what to expect, but Sylvan Dale Ranch (SDR) is home away from home.

The Jessup family owns roughly 3,200 acres in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, and the scenery is just beautiful. This is the setting for the ranch, which is a working ranch with cattle, which enhances the experience for guests.

Accommodations: there are numerous choices for accommodations, from cabins to a lodge to a couple of guest houses to a suite above the dining rom. All the rooms have names, and we stayed in the Big T (Big Thompson, named for the river that runs through the area and can see it from our room), a two bedroom suite just perfect for our family of four. We weren't actually in our rooms that much as there is so much to do, but they are absolutely fine.

Food: …three wonderful meals of comfort food each day, and there is always something there for everyone, including the kids. Breakfasts range from made to order omletts to eggs florentine to pancakes or french toast. Lunches were budgers or BBQ or sandwiches. Dinners ranged from steaks to ribs to mexican night. We never missed a meal!

There is a kids program to keep the little ones of all agres busy...they have their own area on the rnach as well. Kids can pet the foals, pick from the garden, receive riding lessons, go on trail rides, swim in the pool, archery, rock climb...you name it. All included in their price!

For adults, you have the option of the Heart J Rider prorgam, which lets you ride everyday. We had lessons and trail rides every morning, and then rides in the afternoon as well, with a competition at the end of the week. On average we were on horses for close to 4 hours per day. You assigned your own horse for the week (kids too), so that you and the horse get comfortable with each other.

Beyond horse riding there was skeet shooting, rock climbing, nature walks, hiking, swimming, hot tub, tubing, workshops...too many things to mention. And they were really flexible on times as sometimes activities overlapped, so they simply moved some times so guests could do everything they wanted!

Our youngest daughter (9 years old) said she didn't want to leave and asked if we could go back next year. While there are quite a few ranches in Colorado and Wyoming, what makes SDR special is the scenery, as well as the customer experience. The Jessup family runs the ranch and works really hard for the guests to have a truly great experience. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone and will definitely be going back.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Well-kept cabins, friendly staff”

June 20, 2011

We only stayed one night on our trip thru Colorado, but we would definitely stay again and stay longer. We were in the "Baby Doe" cabin, near the river. Cabins and grounds were immaculate; the staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, an excellent experience.

» Visit our TripAdvisor page

“Outstanding weekend!”

March 25, 2011

We hosted a training weekend for 50 volunteers. The weekend was great, and the evaluations from our attendees were unanimous in their praise of Sylvan Dale. The beautiful location, food, meeting rooms and accommodations were outstanding. The staff went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and our meeting went flawlessly. Made our job very easy. Can't wait…

» more guests' reviews

“Fantastic weekend retreat”

January 17, 2011

Recently led a Christian student group which hosted a retreat for about 40 students and alums from CSU at Sylvan Dale and it was nearly perfect! We used the Wagon Wheel Bunkhouse and it met our needs almost exactly. The staff were amazing accommodating. The setting shone with the beauty one expects from a Colorado winter. The facilities are somewhat…

» more guests' reviews

“Absolutely stunning! Wranglers, owners, exceptional food, wonderful horses!”

October 20, 2010

As President of Area 2 Quarter Horse Association in Ontario, Canada, I cannot say enough good things about Sylvan Dale Ranch, their horses are wonderful and well trained and well behaved for all riding skill levels. I have rode and trained many horses for all disciplines and was impressed with the horses at this Ranch. Hats off to the Jessups!!

» more guests' reviews

“Romantic getaway package far surpassed our expectations. Money well spent!”

October 13, 2010

Came to celebrate his birthday and it was a great experience. Food was DELICIOUS, horseback riding was so much fun, the room was perfect, and the location/surroundings were gorgeous. Definitely want to come back!

» more guests' reviews

“Way better than your average trail ride”

October 11, 2010

We took an 1 1/2 trail ride with out of state visitors. Did not stay overnight since we live locally. There were 4 of us plus our guide. Everyone was very accommodating and nice. We had enough time to ride into the foothills and see the view. It was beautiful and the horses were well behaved. We didn't go longer…

» more guests' reviews

“Rustic but well worth it.”

October 9, 2010

No TV, no phone, and not at all like the usual Ritz Carlton hotels that I stay in but I loved it. The staff was exceptionally accommodating and nice. I am not a big horse rider, but I actually missed my horse when I came home. For that matter, I missed the ranch as well. It was a great trip.

» more guests' reviews

“A Slice of Heaven”

September 19, 2010

I stayed at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch for four days in May and it was a fabulous experience. The Ranch is breathtakingly beautiful. The staff is very customer service oriented and the food was fabulous. Spent an afternoon learning how to fly fish in the river and it was so peaceful. Enjoyed a horseback ride with cowboy lunch, a cowboy…

» more guests' reviews

“Very Unique Experience”

September 19, 2010

Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch is truly a wonderful experience. My wife and I have been to some of the best hotels/resorts on the planet and you simply cannot compare this ranch to any other destination…it's warm and welcoming…the scenery is magnificent and the activities are terrific. If you're looking for a unique experience that you'll remember for years to come visit…

» more guests' reviews

“Breathtaking”

June 22, 2010

This is an extraordinary getaway on the banks of the rushing Thompson River. That's a body of water that will lull you to sleep, and the chance to see Golden Eagles overhead will wake you the next morning. And then there's the delicious food. The husband/wife owner are entirely focused on their guests - they are the epitome of graciousness.

» more guests' reviews

“The best family trip we've ever taken!”

June 21, 2010

Our extended family has been to Sylvan Dale three times in the last twelve years for family vacations. From my grandparents to my own babies, we've had every age group at the ranch. The children's' program is so wonderful. My children had a great time learning to ride, playing games, and even rafting. Our daughter has Down syndrome and they were so accommodating!

The adult riding program is great too. My husband especially enjoyed the overnight trip.

The food is incredible! The staff is top notch. They are so welcoming and friendly. By the end of the week you'll feel like you're part of the Jessup family!

There isn't a single thing we didn't love about Sylvan Dale. In fact, I think the best part might have been the lack of "technology." There were no noisy cell phones, tvs, etc. It is the perfect place to spend a week together. It can be as relaxing or adventurous as you want it to be!

» more guests' reviews

“So much beauty, great staff, happy horses, awesome riding - Sylvan Dale will steal your heart!”

June 8, 2010

I have been to Sylvan Dale several times for Dude Weeks with my kids and for the Cowgirl Round Ups. We always have a great time and a wonderful vacation experience there.

This visit was no exception and was a total blast!! I was not there as part of an organized event they were hosting. I look for any reason I can to get to Sylvan Dale and this trip was a layover on the way home from a business trip in Phoenix. The staff at Sylvan Dale helped me create a great weekend getaway with lots of riding that included a clinic with their horse trainer and several advanced rides with their delightful wrangler staff.

It was absolutely beautiful there - everything is lush and green from all the Spring rains and the Thompson River was rushing by outside the cabins filled with Winter snow melt. The wildflowers were out and the weather was great.

If you don't have vacation plans yet for the summer, I would recommend a Dude week at Sylvan Dale.

» more guests' reviews

“Sylvan Dale—More magical than the Magic Kingdom”

April 24, 2010

You will be touched by the magic of Sylvan Dale no matter whether you're there for a night or a week. The beautiful setting, the family of friends and the an authentic western experience combine to make your stay unforgettable. I've just returned from my 4th trip to the ranch and will return again in July. There is something for…

» more guests' reviews

“Reconnect with what matters most at Sylvan Dale Ranch!”

November 17, 2009

From the moment you arrive you are aware of the unique experience before you. The Jessup family are now your extended family and treat you as a welcomed member of the family. Anything and everything is possible. Our family went to Sylvan Dale for a total of 7 summers starting when the children (2 daughters) ages 5 and 8. The…

» more guests' reviews

“Better than a home away from home”

September 25, 2009

Sylvan Dale Ranch has been a family favorite for more than ten years. The service quality hasn't changed a bit, although they've increased their activity offerings and flexibility over the years. Its an amazing escape in a gorgeous setting, so close to the Rocky Mountains, but on the east side, where they get less snow. The owners of the ranch…

» more guests' reviews

“Wonderful western setting with great people”

September 22, 2009

Sylvan Dale Ranch, outside Loveland, CO is a guest ranch that offers a holiday in a true western setting. The location is incredible: 3200 acres overall, with the ranch office and accommodations concentrated on several acres. We had ‘Mama J's’, a four-bedroom charming old house that sat next to the Big Thompson River. We arrived at the house to find…

» more guests' reviews

“A little bit of heaven…”

August 31, 2009

Stayed at the ranch for a recent company retreat and it was a perfect setting. Quaint cottages, colorful wildflowers, rushing river, lakes, ponds…plenty of picture postcard scenery. The ranch is family owned and operated, it is truly a labor of love. Everyday they served delicious comfort food. No TV or cell phone service ..this can be a plus for those…

» more guests' reviews

“A great way to connect”

August 30, 2009

I visited Sylvan Dale with co workers, we had the place to ourselves and just really had an incredible stay. The staff is friendly, the food was great and I loved that it is a Green Resort. This is a great place for a corporate retreat, a place to get away from TV, Laptops and Blackberrys for a week or…

» more guests' reviews

“Authentic experience, lovely setting, but rustic”

August 25, 2009

Very friendly staff, great breakfast, and most likely a great place to avail oneself of the fishing/riding/other activities. However, the bunkhouse accommodations where I stayed were VERY rustic. Slept great though with the sound of the rushing water from river/stream just a stone's throw away.

» more guests' reviews

“Authentic ranch experience”

March 20, 2009

Stayed here two nights in one of three Sweetheart Cabins with a wonderful wood burning fireplace. Our cabin was the Molly Brown (the closest to the river). There were only five or six other guests nights we stayed. At the (included) hot sit-down breakfast each morning, the owner made a point of coming in to greet everyone, make sure people…

» more guests' reviews

“Wonderful hospitality in God's country”

August 13, 2008

Our family of 4 just visited Sylvan Dale for our 4th trip in 10 years. Our kids are now in their 20's and it's as much fun for all of us as it was the first time. The Jessup family welcome you in as part of their family. The ranch is beautiful, the food and entertainment are fantastic, the horses…

» more guests' reviews

“Sylvan Dale Ranch- an incredibly wonderful and unique place”

July 7, 2008

My family of 5 (kids aged 4,9, 12) is about to return to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch for our third time in less than a year…I am hooked on this wonderfully unique place. Although none of my family knew what to expect before we arrived the first time last summer, each and every one of us left with an excitement…

» more guests' reviews

“Charming Place to Stay”

March 1, 2007

I'm glad to see that someone else wrote a recent review. We stayed 2/20/06 through 2/26/06. My husband and I wanted a different B & B experience, and this fits the bill! The photos on their website accurately depict the lodgings and landscape. These are basic, clean and comfortable lodgings with nice, decorative touches. We had the opportunity to stay…

» more guests' reviews

“You will feel like family”

February 1, 2007

We're stayed here twice. Each time we requested special favors the 2nd generation Jessup family bent over backward to accommodate us. The staff are all helpful.

Although it's just over one hour from Denver, and minutes from Loveland CO, the remote mountain setting will delight and repose.

This is not the place to stay if you're looking for very high-end digs. Try the C Lazy U for a more upscale, but less-authentic ranch experience. What you will find here are impeccably clean, rustic, comfortable rooms. Ask for a cabin or lodge room rather than the Wagon Wheel House. The room we stayed in there was OK but not as nice as the others. Watch their website for specials. The Big Thompson River flows through the property and creates some wonderful views

The ranch has plenty of activities for both active (multi-day cattle drives) and less active (short nature walks, one-hour horseback rides, corral rides for the little ones) cowpokes. Don't miss the hayride no matter what time of year. The Jessups know, and eagerly share, their ranch history, geologic history and wildlife. The newer building, which houses reception and after-dinner activities, is also a great place to hang out and read in front of one of the fireplaces.

Food was always copious and tasty. Just remember you're on a ranch, not at a high-end French restaurant. Thanksgiving dinner there was a special treat.

In short, I think you won't find a friendlier group anywhere. Sylvan Dale hosts go out of their way to ensure a great value for whatever your level of activities and whatever your needs.

» more guests' reviews

“Great place to get married”

March 1, 2004

The back drop next to the river in June is the perfect place to get married. The service was better than average, almost excellent, with only one testy employee, who was quickly replaced with a more reasonable person. The food was excellent. Big tip: If you get married next to the river as we did, rent a PA system. The…

» more guests' reviews

 

  • Contact Us About:

    » General Inquiry
    » Ranch Vacations
    » Wedding Events
    » Meetings & Retreats
    » Parties & Picnics

    Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch
    2939 N County RD 31D
    Loveland CO 80538
    (970) 667-3915
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.